Why I never cry at work

For months I had a pattern – I was very unhappy and I would cry because of the things going on in my personal life. I would cry at home, in my car, driving to work, and in the parking lot at work.

Then when it was time to begin the work day, I would dry my tears, get out of the car and leave my baggage and pain outside the door. I would walk into the building with a smile on my face and get to work. Once the work day was over, I would walk out of the building and pick up my baggage and pain and continue crying.

The reason I never cry at work is because I will not let anyone see my pain because they would be sympathetic but in the end they would question if I was still competent enough to do my job and that is a question that I do not want attached to my name.

FYI – I am fine now, not crying 🙂

Leave a Reply

