Papa cut my hair

Papa cut my hair.                                                     And I had to go to school that day

Papa cut my hair because I cried                        And I was completely bald

Papa cut my hair because I cried when mama would straighten it.                                              I cried as my hair fell on the ground because I would become an outsider at school again

Papa cut my hair because I cried when mama would straighten it and my crying woke him up I walked into my third grade class wearing a baseball cap hoping that I could be invisible

Papa cut my hair because I cried when mama would straighten it and my crying woke him up so he took his hair clippers.                            Teacher told me to take my hat off.                         I took it off reluctantly, my eyes downcast, praying for the earth to open up and swallow me whole or become invisible whichever was easier for the Lord to do, I’m not picky Lord!

Papa cut my hair because I cried when mama would straighten it and my crying woke him up so he took his hair clippers and quickly ran it through my hair.                                                         At lunch, D.C. asked what happened to my hair. I told him I had cancer and I ran into the bathroom.

Papa cut my hair because I cried when mama would straighten it and my crying woke him up so he took his hair clippers and quickly ran it through my hair leaving me completely bald.     In the bathroom, I cried, dreading having to face D.C. and my laughing classmates. My ears rang with their loud imagined laughter.

Papa cut my hair because I cried when mama would straighten it and my crying woke him up so he took his hair clippers and quickly ran it through my hair leaving me completely bald, I cried and cried.                                                         Eventually I walked out of the bathroom and D.C. was waiting. He offered me an orange, took my hand and we went to play.

Papa cut my hair because I cried when mama would straighten it and my crying woke him up so he took his hair clippers and quickly ran it through my hair leaving me completely bald, I cried and cried and silently promised to never cry in front of Papa again.                                       No one talked about my hair because of D.C. and I loved him with all my heart that day.

Papa cut my hair.

Leave a Reply

