July 4th, 2016

Happy July 4th everyone!!

I was having a not so great day since I missed my workout this morning but I enjoyed relaxing throughout the day. This evening I went to a new place in Newark, NJ to pick up a turkey burger and what my sister ordered (she paid – YESSSSS!!!!). As I went into the restaurant there was an African American man with a sign that said “I’m a hungry vet”. When I came out it was raining and something made me stop and talk to him. I asked if he had eaten and he replied no. I asked if he would be interested in me buying him a meal from the restaurant. He said yes. I went into the restaurant with him I gave him the menu after asking quietly if he could read. He said yes and asked if he could have ribs, rice and beans. I ordered it and as we waited I talked to him. Turns out that his name is Anthony, he is a vet and was in the military for 12 years. He is going through a divorce and now has a heart condition that he was told that he could go on disability for. I told him that I will pray for him and hopefully his life will get better. I got the food, handed it to him, shook hands with him and wished him the best. He was a good person.

Meeting Anthony today made me greatful for all the things I have. I have my health, a roof over my head, loving family and my cats.

To all the Anthony’s out there, thank you for your service!

And for everyone going through something, it will get better just hold on!!

One thought on “July 4th, 2016

Leave a Reply

